What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

Eight weeks of hard times

with 2 comments

On the suggestion of a friend, I went to the unemployment agency’s problem resolution office yesterday afternoon.

After waiting for about an hour and a half for my number to be called in a room full of fellow unemployed people, the agent told me she couldn’t tell me anything in person. I would have to wait up to eight weeks for a letter telling me whether or not I received my unemployment for the missing weeks. And the remaining four weeks of my claim would also be delayed.

“Eight weeks?” I said. “But I need that money now! Why didn’t they tell me that yesterday over the phone?”

She didn’t know.

I spent the rest of the day and night in shock.

I am broke.

I have no money, except for a few dollars and change in my wallet and jeans pocket, the change in my piggy bank, and whatever I have in bottle deposits. I’m going to have to raid my 401(k) to pay the bills — if they’ll let me.

I may well have to move in with friends or family soon. Not to mention ask them for money.

I am signed up with a few temporary agencies for freelance and temp work. I’ve been calling them since yesterday with no luck. I’m signing up with a few more agencies today.

I don’t like the Michigan Unemployment Agency.

I hate being broke and desperate.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m wondering if you appealed your case.

    I am in the same situation as you were and I will be writing an appeal

    Monina

    May 8, 2010 at 11:41 am


Leave a Reply

