What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

News from the unemployment agency

with one comment

Good news: The unemployment agency sent me its determination today over my missed call to MARVIN. I didn’t have to wait eight weeks for their decision after all. Plus they sent me a form letter about how I may soon be eligible for extended benefits after nearly 26 weeks of unemployment unenjoyment here in the recession capital of America.

Bad news: They determined I’m ineligible for unemployment benefits for the weeks for which I missed the call to MARVIN. Apparently job hunting and interviewing “is not considered good cause for failure to report timely” under their rules/regulations/laws.

What the ….?

Yes, I know I’m supposed to call MARVIN on time. If I didn’t know that before, I surely know it now.

However, aren’t unemployed people supposed to keep busy job hunting and networking?

So, I ask you, Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency, what is an acceptable reason for not calling MARVIN/reporting for benefits? Being on my deathbed? Getting hit by a bus? Being on my deathbed after getting hit by a bus?

Those probably aren’t acceptable reasons, either. You’d determine I could still dial the phone if I were sick in bed.

Meanwhile, I’m still broke.  I haven’t been posting entries to this blog this week because I’ve been very busy applying for every halfway decent job I can find at the mall, on the Internet, or on craigslist.

And my family and I are taking turns reassuring each other that I’ll be okay.

Thanks, Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency. You’ll be hearing from me again soon.

Written by Joanne

July 22, 2009 at 5:28 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] See more here: News from the unemployment agency « What's So Funny About … […]


Leave a Reply

