What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

Musings of an insomniac

with one comment

I haven’t been sleeping well the last few nights. I’ve been waking up around 2 or 3 in the morning. Just call me an unemployed insomniac.

So very early this morning I woke up and went into my little home office trying to figure out if I still needed to call good old MARVIN (Michigan’s unemployment system, in case you’re just joining us) today. Or next week.

Because, you see, I don’t need a repeat of last month’s no-call no-benefits fiasco. Then I really wouldn’t be able to sleep for awhile.

Luckily, I did talk to unemployment last week. So I don’t have to deal with MARVIN again until next Wednesday the 12th. And yes, I got my benefits extended.

Oh, BTW, I had a happy birthday. Despite the worldwide Twitter/Facebook attack, several friends left nice happy birthday wishes on my Facebook wall. I took myself out to see “Funny People,” a very dark comedy-drama. And three of my girlfriends took me out to dinner. And I talked to my stepmother. All in all, a good birthday.

Written by Joanne

August 7, 2009 at 3:52 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I sure can relate to not sleeping well. I’m about the hit my 2 month mark of unemployment and the moment I lay down, my mind begins racing! I’m usually fortunate that I fall asleep rather quickly, but I’m never, ever rested since I toss & turn all night (my poor husband!).

    You’d think with all day free to think, I could get it all done during my waking hours and not while I’m trying to sleep but nope, it just doesn’t work that way!

    I also just started blogging about my unemployment, if you’d like to check it out!

    http://activeleisure.wordpress.com

    Active Leisure

    August 23, 2009 at 4:02 pm


Leave a Reply

