What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

In the wee small hours of the morning …

with one comment

It’s now almost 5:30 a.m., and I’ve been up for two hours.

This sort of thing happens to me more often since I’ve been unemployed.

For one thing, I used to wake up in the middle of the night totally stressed out over my future (or my present).

For another, since I now don’t have to go to work in the morning, it’s far too easy to stay up if I wake up in the middle of the night — and start watching TV, surfing the Internet for jobs, playing on Facebook, or writing a blog post.

However, there’s a job fair starting at 11 a.m. this morning on the other side of town. I’d like to be reasonably alert for it, so I need to go back to sleep for a few hours.

I have no idea how to cure insomnia. It seems to be a vicious cycle: You can’t sleep because you’re worried, and you worry because you can’t sleep.

Good night (or good morning).

Written by Joanne

November 18, 2009 at 8:43 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my! I so know how you feel. I have been dealing with own my unemployment insomnia for months now.. and I still have not found a cure.

    My my races if I get into bed, so I stay up late clicking through horrible late night tv.. the next thing I know, it’s 3:00am and I’m still up. I guess I should consider myself lucky that I’m not waking up early too! But after falling asleep around 3:00am, I can barely drag my butt out of bed at 9:00am!

    It seems to be a losing battle!

    The first signs of insonmnia were back in August:
    http://activeleisure.wordpress.com/2009/08/17/sleepless-in-nj/

    Michelle

    November 18, 2009 at 2:39 pm


Leave a Reply

