What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

Last Christmas and this Christmas

leave a comment »

A year ago this coming week, I was notified that I was being laid off from my job as of early January.

Thinking back, this is how I should have reacted at some point:

But, strangely enough, I didn’t get too upset, either privately or in public. I remember mostly being in shock because, even though our company had announced financial cutbacks, I didn’t think it would come to layoffs.

And I didn’t think they would cut my job. I thought my job was too essential; and when I told others the news they thought I’d been there too long for this to happen to me. Silly me, silly them.

After I got the news, I just kept on working, celebrating Christmas, and starting to look for a new job as best I could.

This is now my second Christmas since being told I was being laid off. Once again, I’m celebrating as best as I can even if I don’t always have the money or feel like it. Things like seeing Christmas lights and ice sculptures and attending parties can be done for free or very cheaply.

So far, I’m managing to have a merry little Christmas this year.

Merry Christmas (or Happy Hanukkah) to you.

Written by Joanne

December 12, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Posted in holidays

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

