What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

Happy 2010! and Reflections on my anniversary

with one comment

Sorry I’m a day late with the New Year’s wishes. I spent New Year’s Day sitting and dozing around the house, recovering from New Year’s Eve. (Yes, all was quiet on New Year’s Day at WSFAU.)

This week marks my first anniversary of unemployment. Since the first anniversary is the paper anniversary, the Unemployment Insurance Agency sent me a paper letter to tell me my benefit year was up and I now have to file a new claim. (Gee, thanks. Especially since your agency is now more or less on vacation for the holiday and it’s Saturday anyway.)

Anyway, I never thought I’d be out of a full-time job for this long. I’ve had several job interviews. I have a college education. I’m able to relocate. I do volunteer work to keep busy and keep my skills sharp. I can even speak and read a little Spanish (which my stepmother keeps urging me to put on my resume; but then, she winters in Arizona).

Obviously, my New Year’s resolution is the same as it was last year: Get a Job. Hopefully I won’t still be unemployed or underemployed in 2011.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck to you. And to me. And to the rest of us.

    Vic Doucette

    January 2, 2010 at 2:37 pm


Leave a Reply

