What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

A crowded and busy afternoon at the job fair

leave a comment »

This afternoon, I went to a big job fair in Lake Orion (just north of The Palace of Auburn Hills).

It attracted a big crowd — I waited almost an hour just to get into the UAW hall where it was taking place, and I was directed to one of the very last parking spaces. As we job hunters said while waiting in line, it could have been worse. It could have rained, snowed, sleeted … As it was, I was glad I listened to the little voice in my head which said “wear your pantsuit” and not a skirted suit as I usually wear to job fairs. It was cold in that line!

Whether it was the size and layout of the union hall (every other job fair I’ve ever been at has been in a hotel or at a college), the hundreds of people who crowded into it, or both, I’ve seldom seen such a line at a job fair. If they’re out there, I’d like to thank the UAW volunteers who directed traffic, brought us coffee outside and kept the line moving inside. Good job, all of you!

Thankfully, this fair was worth the wait.

Last year I went to a few too many job fairs which mostly consisted of direct sales companies, military recruiters*, truck driving schools, online universities, and maybe one company or agency to which I wanted to apply. But today’s job fair was different. It had about 20 companies and temp agencies who were actively taking resumes, talking to people — and, according to the buzz in line, hiring. I managed to talk to five or six of them (and get a few brochures from a computer training school).

*Let me just say for the record I have nothing against having the military recruit at job fairs. It’s just that I am not the type of person they’re recruiting.

Links to the job fair’s media coverage (I would have taken my own pictures of the line outside, but, alas, my smartphone’s battery was dead):

Fox 2 story and video/photos

WWJ 950 AM news radio story

– The Oakland Press Video > Video-news: The best place for news in and around Oakland County

Written by Joanne

January 27, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Leave a Reply

