What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

Ms. WSFAU, the sub, continued

leave a comment »

As longtime WSFAU readers know, I occasionally interrupt my unemployment to substitute teach in my local school district.  It keeps me A. in touch with the youth of my town; and B. in grocery money.

Yesterday, I received a call to sub for an elementary school music teacher.  Now, I love music — but the only things I can play are stereos, iTunes, and my iPod. And I’m the first to admit I cannot sing.

It was only when the administrators told me show choir was canceled in the regular teacher’s absence that my inner Gleek realized I missed my chance to see/direct/be in my own little version of Glee. (On the other hand, I didn’t have to deal with a power-hungry cheerleading coach or a crazy soon-to-be ex, either.)

Despite my disappointment, I carried on with the substitute lesson plans.

The Kindergarten class was easy. The teachers aide and I showed them a Disney movie. At least it had musical numbers in it.

The violin class was also easy; their regular teacher came in.

One class, to its credit, knew what to do: They came in, took the instruments, and started working on the tune they had been composing. I was glad they did this — in my opinion, the substitute hadn’t left them much of a lesson. And I was their audience.

And I gave another class a lesson in the national anthem.

I still need to work on getting my classes to be better behaved and quieter. I don’t have much teaching experience, and asserting myself in the classroom has been a problem.  If any experienced teachers have any ideas for me (hello, Aunt Joanne!), please let me know.

Written by Joanne

March 3, 2010 at 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

