What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

Dear Internal Revenue Service:

leave a comment »

Internal Revenue Service

Washington, D.C.

April 15, 2010

Dear Taxpayees:

Well, it happened. The thing of which I’ve been scared since last April 15.

I owe you. Big time. And since I’m unemployed, I have no money with which to pay you. None. Zip. Nada. Not a dime.

(In fact, this week, I’ve been house sitting for a little extra cash. Which I expect you’ll expect me to declare on my 2010 return. But enough about that.)

You see, I thought I did everything right by you, IRS. I had taxes withheld from my unemployment payments. I took emergency distributions from my IRA account — but I had taxes withheld from those, too. As you would want me to do.

When I finally, nervously, started doing my taxes earlier this week, the numbers on the top left-hand corner of my TurboTax software were in the green! I was, apparently, getting a refund. A very nice and much-needed refund. This being the 21st century, I happily Tweeted and Facebooked the good news to my friends and followers.

However, I couldn’t find my W2 from my former employer. So I called my former employer and asked for a copy. And prepared to file for an extension, making sure I didn’t owe anything ….

Then I entered in the information from my Forms 1099-R. (Forms from those IRA and other retirement account distributions, as you know.)

Before I knew it, the number changed from green to red. You can just imagine my shocked, sad face when I saw that big, red number.

My big, fat refund was now a big, fat payment. Due today, along with my Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return.

It’s almost enough to make a woman want to join the Tea Party. Even though I prefer coffee.

May we please work out a payment plan, IRS?

Sincerely,

Joanne Taxpayer

cc: Michigan Department of Treasury

Leave a Reply

