What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

Happy Mother’s Day

leave a comment »

My mother at work in the Classified Advertising Department of The Flint Journal in the 1970s.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers, stepmothers, grandmothers, aunts (my Aunt Joanne reads this blog, so hello to her today), and other caring women out there!

I’m not a mother myself. However, I actually have two mothers.

My mother, Mary, has been gone for six years now. I’ll always miss her, and so will her family, friends, and coworkers. Mom was a caring, gentle, intelligent, and often funny woman. People said we looked alike, and we did.

Mom worked, hard, as a secretary in a newspaper classified advertising department. (Thankfully, Mom was about to retire before craigslist would have eliminated her job.)

My brother and I have always liked that old picture of Mom, taken when she was new at her paying job. Notice the old receipt book — and lack of a PC! They were just learning how to use Video Display Terminals back then.

I also have a stepmother, Judy. After my parents’ marriage ended, she and my father married when I was in my teens. Now, I’m the first to admit Judy and I didn’t always see eye-to-eye. However, we’re now friends. Plus, how can I dislike someone else who owns and uses a MacBook? 😉

Judy’s in her seventies now; retired, very active, and dividing her time between Arizona and Michigan.

But I remember the years Judy worked part-time at our local hospital as a charting secretary, dealing with medical records and doctors and nurses. Then she’d come home and deal with us kids and Dad. Or deal with us and then go to the hospital.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of Judy at her job — and she’s been the family picture-taker over the years. So I really don’t have a good picture of her to post right now. So just imagine an average-looking woman at family weddings, reunions, graduations, and other events. Or, yes, skydiving in Arizona for her seventieth birthday (she’s particularly proud of that, and she should be).

Again, we at WSFAU wish every single hard-working mother out there a Happy Mother’s Day.

Even if you’re officially unemployed, we know you’re still hard at work. 😉

Written by Joanne

May 9, 2010 at 7:00 am

Posted in holidays, Mother's Day

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

