What's So Funny About Unemployment?

A funny little unemployment blog for your (un) enjoyment

News I haven’t told you …

leave a comment »

At a party the other evening, a few friends told me they read this blog and liked it. (Thank you!) Which reminded me I hadn’t posted anything in a few weeks. Please accept my apologies for your not having anything new to read here in a while.

Actually, I’ve been holding out on all of you: I’ve been working.

At the start of June, I began a part-time temporary job. I’m working at the circulation desk of one of my county community college’s libraries. (For you non-librarians, “working at the circulation desk” means I’ve been checking books in and out and helping students with various questions and problems.) The pay’s good and I’m gaining experience I need for other library jobs. I’m happy there.

The only thing is, I just don’t know how long it’s going to last. At first I was told it would be two weeks. Then the assignment was extended for another two weeks. I don’t know if this is going to be my last week on the job or if it will go on for a while longer. Such is the nature of temporary work.

And of course, there’s another thing (or two): Since it’s a temporary job, I haven’t quite felt like announcing “I have a job!” here. Although I do, indeed, have a job. And since I’ve been working, I’ve had less time to write here.

Written by Joanne

June 20, 2010 at 10:43 am

Posted in employment

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

